Decision Made

Thank you all so much for your input! It helped solidify the decision I had already pretty much made. I have to admit, I feel rather sheepish about this. I love the Lady Gray, but  I think I prefer the McCalls to the Lady Gray. Even after making another muslin in a size 10 The LG requires too many changes to make it flattering. I may not have the size 4 body I did in my 20s, but I’m not hippy, and this makes me look hippy and short waisted, sigh. Don’t get me wrong. I still really love this pattern. I’m just not the right body type for it. I’m self-aware enough to know that, even with changes to make it look good on me, I’d end up looking like mutton dressed as lamb. I’m not old enough to be mutton yet, so I definitely don’t want to look desperate. The final nail? After placing the lace on the second muslin last night, I realized that it just looked overwhelming and rather twee.

Sigh…

So McCalls 5525 it is. View A. I’m sorry I won’t be participating in the sew-along, but I want a garment that I’ll love, and I think this is the more likely candidate.

BTW, in case you haven’t figured it, this is yet another reason to make a muslin!
Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in McCalls, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decision Made

  1. Cennetta says:

    I preferr the McCall’s coat too.

  2. nommh says:

    I was wondering, if I was just prejudiced when I thought, what a pity, but this pattern is not for me, not one single bit. I AM short-waisted. So your post seems to push my prejudice into the realm of fact a little.
    The McCall’s will look great on you.

  3. Fran says:

    I just received my first order from Gorgeous Fabrics which included the taupe raincoat fabric. I cannot tell you how delighted I am with your product and your service. The fabrics are fabulous! This order was the first of many to follow.

    I am so happy you have picked the McCalls pattern. I plan to make View E so I will definitely look forward to you comments as you progress with your project.

    Fran

  4. Pammie says:

    I agree with your selection! Great choice. I love Gertie’s blog and would love to participate in the sew-along, but like you and Eugenia, I don’t think this style fits my body. Sad. I love the McCall’s.

Comments are closed.