Material or Fabric?

Here’s a question for you. Do you refer to the “stuff” out of which you make garments as “material” or as “fabric”?  My mom always used to call it material. I’ve called it fabric at least since I moved away from home. I’ve seen and heard it called both.

I used to work in supply chain when I was in high-tech. Supply chain refers to the things and processes that take a product from raw, well, material to finished goods. So “material” in my world is a general moniker for physical things, while “fabric” refers specifically to textiles. So I call it “fabric”.

How about you? What do you call it?

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics. Bookmark the permalink.