Pattern Review – Burda 08-2010 112 Top

Found the picture, thanks to Katia and absolutely NO thanks to Burda

Pattern Description: This pattern is for a double-layer top. The under layer is offset about 45° at the sides, creating a cool bubble effect.

Sizing: 34-44. I used a 40, though next time I’ll go down to a 38 and do a FBA.

Fabric Used: For the underlayer, a (sold out) paisley jersey. For the upper layer, Rayon Jersey in Amethyst. Both fabrics are from Gorgeous Fabrics, of course.

Needle/Notions Used: Stretch 70/11. Polyester cone thread. That’s all.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes.

How were the instructions? Burda typical. I actually didn’t like the way they have you put together the shirt. They tell you to sew the shoulders and bind the necklines of each of the separate tops. The underlayer top is sleeveless. They have you attach the underlayer to the upper layer at the hem, and leave the rest of the top free-floating. To me, that didn’t make sense. So I did my own thing. I’ll show you below.

Construction Notes: Here’s how I put the tops together.

1 – Sew shoulder seams and bind the neckline for the underlayer top. Sew the side seams. Repeat this process for the upper layer top. Do NOT sew the sleeves yet. So you end up with two sleeveless tops:

2 – Put your underlayer top inside your upper layer, with the Wrong Side of the underlayer facing the Right Side of the upper layer. Sew the two layers together at the hem. Here you can see the two layers and where they are attached at the hem.

3 – Pull the underlayer through so the Right Side of the underlayer faces the Wrong side of the upper layer. Match the shoulder and side seams on both tops. Baste both layers together at the armhole.

4 – Attach sleeve to basted garment layers. Ta daaa! Easier and (to me anyway) more logical way to construct it. Plus, this way you don’t have to futz with the shoulder seams and such when you put it on.

Any design changes? Only very slight. The original pattern calls for sleeves that are roughly 4 inches longer than the average arm. I didn’t have enough fabric and I was too lazy to go cut more, so I just made them wrist length. Other than that, nope.

But if I make this again, I’d probably cut the underlayer about a half-inch shorter than the upper layer, to eliminate any possibility of the underlayer peeking out at the hem.

Likes/Dislikes: This is cute and will be a great top for fall into winter. For my dislikes, see This Post Here.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? I might do it again. I don’t know if I need more than one of this top. But I do recommend it, if you can get past the damned pattern sheet in the magazine. It’s cute and it’s comfortable. And it will look fantastic on me with a pair of jeggings! 😉

Conclusion: Cute cute cute! Here’s the finished product on Shelley:

Oh, you know, this picture reminds me. This top is quite long. I’m 5’6″ with a pretty average length torso. I think if I do make it again, I’ll take about 2 inches or more of length off. You might want to check the length on you before you sew it up.

Parting Shot: Pincushion
My friends Bill and Ed, who own The Farmhouse Store in Westfield, NJ gave me this lovely little Nantucket Basket Pincushion when we met for dinner in New York. How fabulous is this???

You may remember them for another lovely gift they sent me – my Chemo Bling Ring. They are such dear people, and they have such gorgeous things in store (and I know from Gorgeous Things). If you are in the area, do stop in and tell them I sent you!

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Burda, Patterns, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.