Pattern Review – BWOF 05-2010 121A Larry Bird Shorts

It’s been a long, bad week. It started with DH’s car dying and it didn’t get any better from there. One of our family’s dear friends died yesterday after a long battle with cancer. Vale, Barry. You will be sorely missed. Another friend’s daughter was just diagnosed with osteosarcoma at age 9. I started radiation, which isn’t bad at all compared with chemo, but it does take time out of the middle of every day, which means I feel like I’m scrambling to keep up.

But enough of my whining. I did manage to get a very little sewing done. I made my Larry Bird Shorts. So here you go…

Pattern Description: (From the Burda website) Sporty, sexy and sewn in a snap, these shorts are a must-have! 
The waist elastic is a comfortable detail.

Sizing: 34-42. I made a 40

Fabric Used: 3 oz (sold out, sorry) Japanese denim from Gorgeous Fabrics (of course).

Needle/Notions Used: 70/10 needle. 1 1/2 inch waistline elastic from Pamela’s Patterns (great stuff!). 1/2 inch nickel grommets. Black cord stops.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes.

How were the instructions? Burda. ‘Nuf said.

Construction Notes: This is a pretty straightforward pattern. I managed to do something a little weird to the band trim at the bottom, but it isn’t bad and so I’ll just call it a design enhancement and leave it be.

Any changes? After making the Bermuda/Capri length without any changes, I changed the Insane Crotch to work better for me. I changed the angle of the crotch in the back, which raised the entire thing by about an inch. I changed the front curve to match.

Also, Burda calls for 30 inches of elastic for the waistband for a size 40. That’s way too much. Take at least 6 inches off that to start and see how you like the fit.

Likes/Dislikes: Cute shorts that will be comfortable for summer. These are definitely short-shorts; I’d call them one step above Daisy Dukes. So if you are more modestly inclined. I’d add a couple of inches of length to them.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? Yes I would do it again. The pattern calls for lightweight woven fabrics, but I think this would work really well in a mid-to-heavy knit fabric as well. I may try making that next. These only take about an hour to sew from start to finish. Would I recommend it? Well… maybe. You saw that I had to do some serious adjusting to the crotch curve, so you should definitely make a test garment to see how it works for you.

Conclusion: Cute shorts! Here’s a picture on Shelly. Sorry – it’s really hard to take a picture of shorts on a dress dressform. I should have taken them on myself (not until I put self-tanner on my legs) or on my full-body-with-legs dressform. Oh well, you get the picture.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Burda, Patterns, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.