Pattern Review – Simplicity 4076 Twist Top

Pattern Description: Knit tops with sleeve/neckline variations. I’ve made this pattern several times before, but never the twist top. This time I made it (View F – the sleeveless version)

Sizing: 8 10 24. This runs big through the shoulder/upper back, in my experience, so I started with a 12 and tapered to a 14 at the bust point. That was the right decision. A straight 14 would have been too big.

Fabric Used: Extra Wide Rayon Jersey in Deep Coral. This is a reasonably lightweight jersey with a lot of give to it. It’s perfect for spring.

One note about rayon jerseys – I’ve seen some folks complaining that they are see through when you hold them up to the light. Well, of course they are. Pretty much anything that is less than 14 oz is going to be see through if you hold it up to the light. But it isn’t see through in most cases when it is against the body. There are a couple of exceptions (most good fabric vendors will note it when they are semi sheer). But don’t panic if you can see your hand when you backlight a fabric. Hold it up against you and look in the mirror. That will give you a better indication of the sheerness of the weave or knit.

Needle/Notions Used: Stretch 75/11 needle. Seam binding for stabilizing the shoulders. Gutterman thread.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes, though you can see that there is space where the twist takes place. I’ll tack that closed, and you may want to as well if you make this top so you don’t get any peekaboo bra showing.

How were the instructions? For the most part I didn’t use them, though I did use their ordering for construction of neckline and sleeves. In the future I would do it differently. Simplicity has you finish the neckline edges before sewing the shoulders, then they have you finish the armhole edges after sewing the shoulders. The result is this:

One side is clean finished while the other isn’t. Instead – sew the shoulder and side seams first, then finish the armhole and neckline edges. It will look much better.

Any changes? Other than starting with a 12 at the shoulder and going out to a 14 at the bust, no.

Likes/Dislikes: I wanted an easy, fast top for spring to wear with my Burda skirt, as well as other things. This fit the bill perfectly.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? Sure and sure. It’s an easy top and it is cute. I debated making it because I was afraid twist tops are so 2006, but I saw a lot of them at Barneys and Bloomingdales when I was there last week. DKNY is showing a bunch for spring and summer, so they are still in.

Conclusion: Cute, easy, fun and stylish. What more do you need? Here’s a picture on Shelley:

 And here’s a picture with the Burda Skirt:

Parting Shot: Vale Carmen and Otto. Friends who have known me for a long time know that, before Hoover, we had two black labs: Carmen and Otto. Carmen went to the big puppy playground in the sky in 2004 at the age of 13. Otto joined her a year later at the age of 14 1/2. We’ve had their ashes sitting on a side table in the living room in cookie tins with their names on it (watch out – that ain’t powdered sugar!) that the pet cremation place sent to us. We’ve been wanting to plant them under a hydrangea bush for a number of years, and today we finally did. So now they will help the hydrangea grow big and strong. They were good dogs.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Reviews, Simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.