Oh Yes, I Was There…

I spent the last few days in New York City doing business. I felt well enough after my last chemo (still doing the Snoopy dance) that I planned the trip. BTW, if you are thinking of going to New York, hotel rates are still pretty reasonable right now. But I sensed an uptick in the numbers of folks visiting. So hopefully we’re emerging from the recession just a bit, and if so, the hotel rates are going to start to climb.

Back to the story at hand. Last week, my darlings, Tom and Lorenzo called me and asked if I could make it to a Project Runway finale party at the fabulous Laura Bennett’s house? I could have been still tethered to the IV and I would have found a way to get my sorry carcass down there. The good news is that I felt pretty good after the last round, so I was able to go. I’ll make just a couple of comments and then get to the good stuff. First – Seth Anthony is an absolute sweetie. He is genuinely nice. Last night, he was a little antsy. In 20/20 hindsight, of course, it’s because he knew he had won (yay!!!) but couldn’t say anything. He also had his entire family with him. There were about 60 or 70 people at the party, and Laura was an incredibly gracious host. There were a ton of Project Runway alumni/ae there. Emmett was my date, since DH wasn’t able to make it. It was a great time, and I can’t think of a better way to celebrate the one-week anniversary of the end of my chemotherapy!

Enough yammering – here are pictures:

 Our gracious hostess and one of her boys
Tom and Lorenzo with Seth Aaron

 Emmett and Laura

Tom and Dave (one of my fellow Bitter Kittens)

Althea and Emmett – aka “Muir Woods”

Althea, Emmett and the fabulous Malan

Kevin Christiana

Althea and Anthony (he is so funny!)

Laura introducing the show

SA with his family as they announce his win

Talking with TLo after the win. 

Me and Kevin

The last time I saw Kevin was at a fundraiser for the Faulkner Hospital Breast Care Centershortly before my own diagnosis. How ironic, eh? Kevin is such a sweetheart. Next time he comes to Boston we’re going to get together. Or next time I get to New York. Love that man.
A great time was had by all. You can read the complete story over at Tom and Lorenzo’s Blog

Back to the sewing room this weekend. Have a great one!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Project Runway, Laura Bennett, Project RunGay, Emmett McCarthy. Bookmark the permalink.