No-Bubble Interfacing Application

The blouse is close to finished. I have to go out and get some buttons for it. Strange – I have no buttons that go with an orange striped fabric. Go figure….


Occasionally I’ll get a question about applying fusible interfacing. One thing that drives me crazy is interfacing that has bubbled. This happens thanks to poor application methods. And it isn’t only limited to home-sewn garments. I once paid a fair amount of money for a Liz Claiborne blouse, and after about 4 wearings/washings, the interfacing bubbled like overheated pudding. I was not a happy camper, and to this day I won’t buy Claiborne because of that.


The good news is (for us sewing mavens anyway) that good, bubble-resistant application of interfacing is easy, and doesn’t take too much time. Let me show you how I do it.


Choose the Right Interfacing
There’s job one. I only use woven or tricot fusible interfacings. Never in a million years will you find me putting a non-woven interfacing in a garment (handbags are another matter – but we’re not talking about them here). I also only use interfacings that have the glue evenly dispersed on the surface. I want a nice, even glue application. I avoid the types of interfacings where you can see little dots of glue all over them.
(Shameless plug alert!) Personally, I get all my interfacings from Pam at Fashion Sewing Supply. NAYY – I just like it best of all the interfacings I have used. Palmer-Pletsch also makes good quality interfacing.


Would You Like that Gespritz?
Lay your interfacing -glue side down, of course – on the wrong side of your fabric. Using a spray mister (you can buy them at beauty supply stores, most CVS’s and garden shops) spray the interfacing until it’s good and damp, but not soaking wet.

Like the Blue Nails?

Press Cloth is Key
Lay a sheer press cloth over your interfacing/fabric. I use silk organza. It’s strong, it resists high heat, and it allows you to see what you are doing. It also acts as a bit of an insulator so you can up the temperature on your iron a bit. I set my iron on the highest setting for most interfacings. If I’m using a low-temperature fusible, I set my iron to the wool setting.

The other reason to use a press cloth is to protect your iron. If you (ahem) ever have been in the situation where you are fusing before you’ve had your morning coffee (ahem), then you might mistakenly place the interfacing glue-side up. Using the press cloth saves you the hassle and expletives involved in cleaning interfacing glue off your iron.

Baby You Can Do It/Take Your Time/Do It Right
Place your iron over the press cloth and hold it there for between 15 and 20 seconds without moving it. That’s important – if you move your iron around, you run the risk of smooshing your interfacing. Pick your iron up, position it onto another section, and hold it for 15-20 seconds. Repeat until all interfaced areas are fused.

Let the interfaced piece cool completely before removing the press cloth and taking it off the ironing board.

I’ve used this method for interfacing for years, and I never have problems with bubbling. Hopefully it will help you.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Techniques. Bookmark the permalink.