Pattern Review – Kwik Sew 3115 Yoga Pants and Top

The subtitle for this post is “Playing with Large Prints”. I’ve had this pattern in my stash for several years, but never got around to making it. But when I got the new batch of Swiss 4 way Nylon/Lycra knits, I decided to try it out.

Pattern Description: From Kwik Sew’s Website, The Misses’ Pants & Tops are designed for two-way stretch fabric with 75% stretch. We suggest cotton Lycra¨, nylon Lycra¨, rayon Lycra¨, or swimwear fabric.

Misses’ pants and tops. The very close fitting pull-on pants have flared legs in two lengths and a wide waistband with narrow elastic. The View A camisole has a shelf bra lining and elastic at the top edge and shoulder straps. The View B top has a V-neckline and armholes finished with self fabric bindings.
I made View B – the V-neck top and cropped pants.

Sizing: XS-XL. I used a Small for the pants and a Medium for the top.

Fabric Used: Swiss 4-Way Stretch in Lemongrass for the pant legs and trim on the top. Panel Print Rayon Jersey in Turquoise/Brown/Yellow for the body of the top and the trim on the pants.

Needle/Notions Used: I used my serger for all the seams, so Stretch 75/11 needle. Other than that and Maxilock thread, not much!

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes

How were the instructions? I didn’t use them, though I did glance at them. They are typical for Kwik Sew. In other words, very clear.

Construction Notes: The panel print I used for the top is a large-scale print. Working with prints like these can be tricky. Or maybe interesting is a better description. It gives you lots of leeway for creative layout. To really get a feel for the way it would look I traced the entire pattern piece – both sides. Kwik Sew’s original pattern piecees are one half of the top front and back which are cut on the fold. That works just fine in a less complex print, but I wanted to see the way the entire piece would look. I tried laying it out in a few different ways. I knew I didn’t want to center the large square in the middle of my front torso. So I tried laying it out with the panel band running down the center front.

Mmmm, no. I played with a couple of other layouts and finally decided to do a slightly offset one.

Because this fabric has generous stretch both in the lengthwise and the crosswise grains, I cut the back on the cross grain.

During the sewing process, I decided to do things a little differently from the way the pattern instructs. Kwik Sew’s instructions have you sew the side seams and then attach the armhole bands. I decided to reverse that order. I attached the bands first:

Then I sewed the sides together.

Any changes? I used contrast bands for the top, made from the pants fabric. I used the borders of the panels from the top fabric as the waistband and hem treatments on the pants:

Likes/Dislikes: This pattern goes together in less than an hour. I like the style. The pants are brighter than I usually wear, but I can use sunny colors these days. I didn’t dislike anything.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? Yes and yes. As I say, this goes together very quickly. I’d recommend it for anyone who has advanced beginner or higher skills. If you know your way around a serger, it’s even faster to sew up.

Conclusion: A great exercise pattern. I’ll get lots of use from this. I will probably make the longer pants in black and they’ll be a staple in my workout wardrobe. Here are pictures of the front and back:

They call me mellow yellow… quite rightly!

The Chanel jacket is progressing nicely. I’ll get around to setting in the sleeves later this week, then really, I will post pictures. It’s just kind of boring to look at right now, you know?

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics, Kwik Sew. Bookmark the permalink.