Still Here!

Miss me? I’ve dropped off the radar lately because I’ve been really busy. I’m still working on the Chanel jacket, but it’s slow going and I don’t think you’d be interested in seeing my catchstitching. I will have some things to start to show soon. I’m also starting to plan some coordinates to build a spring wardrobe around the jacket. Man, that sounds suspiciously like a SWAP, doesn’t it? Nah, I’m too scattered for that!
I also got some news this week that knocked me for a loop. Not a change in status, but some results came back that indicate that I might want to have some other treatments than what was originally planned. That sucks. So one of the coordinates (or maybe two or three) is going to be an Hermes scarf. I already told DH that’s what I would like for Valentine’s day. Sigh…
But hey! On a much more fun front, save the date and stash away your pennies! Susan Khalje is coming to Gorgeous Fabrics’ studio in Billerica, MA (just outside Boston) to hold her Couture Sewing School. It’s a 6 day course that runs from May 24 to May 29, 2010. I’ve taken classes with Susan and she is one of the best, if not the, best teacher I’ve ever worked with. Here’s the description of the class from Susan’s website:

At the Couture Sewing School, 6 intensive days are devoted to creating your garment – it can be sophisticated day wear, evening wear, a wedding gown, the little black dress – the choice is yours. It can be for yourself, for a friend, or it can be a sample. You’ll be incorporating into your project the couture techniques and details that go into Susan Khalje’s exquisite garments.

You’ll prepare a muslin ahead of time, and after Susan perfects the fit, you’ll begin working on your garment. In addition to specific work on your garment, time is taken each morning to learn a battery of couture techniques. Business issues are included as well – Susan ran a very successful couture business for over 25 years – and she shares her expertise during a special evening session. 

To find out more and to sign up, Check it out at Susan’s New Website (which, BTW is absolutely gorgeous!)

I’ll post pictures of the Chanel Jacket as soon as I have something worth showing.

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Chanel Jacket, Couture, Susan Khalje. Bookmark the permalink.