Two Down, Two to Go!

I spent all today in the studio/classroom (aka the “Atelier” – ha!) and made curtains for the two biggest windows in the family room. Sorry for the not-so-great picture. We left my good camera at my sister’s at Thanksgiving and DH took this picture with his phone while I was working at the studio on the other set.  I have two other windows left; I hope to finish them tomorrow. They are the same size, so it should be pretty easy.

These are simple tab-top curtains, lined with flannel for warmth. The wind is whipping here in Boston today, and we run the Christmas lights through the bay window, so it will be nice to pull the curtains closed and keep the cold out. There isn’t much to these. Having an industrial sewing machine is a godsend when you make curtains, because it cruises at lightning speed on straight seams. The only construction notes for you are regarding the measurements. I use 2 inch double fold hems, and I sew the lining to the top of the curtains with a one-inch seam. I spent more time pressing the curtains than I did actually sewing them. I do find that pressing as you go makes a huge difference. Don’t wait until your curtains are done. Press each seam as you sew it for best results.

Tomorrow I’ll be up at the “Atelier” finishing the last of the curtains. Then it’s time to clean clean clean! 12 people will be descending on my classroom for Susan’s class on Friday and it looks like a thread and fabric bomb exploded in there. Yikes!

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.