Lingerie Lust

I haven’t had any desire to sew lingerie before. I’ve made bathrobes for various family members. But I’m not into making my own bras, panties, negligees, teddies, camisoles, garter belts, or anything like that. I think that’s about to change! Hotpatterns just released some a new collection called Boudoir of Bliss (cheeky devils, Trudy and Jeremy!) Bliss is right. There are three patterns in this collection that I’m positively drooling over. First Up, the Trousseau Nightgown and Robe.

How do I love this? Let me count the ways. I’m particularly gaga over the gown. I love the lines, I love the drape, and I just got in the most perfect 70-denier microfiber jersey to make it with. I’ll have that up on Gorgeous Fabrics tomorrow, and I’ll place an order then, too. I’m not generally a big robe gal, but I think this will make a lovely exception. And I can wear it when I don’t feel like schlubbing around (not like I ever really schlub around) in my plaid fleece robe.

The second pattern that caught my eye is the Buckingham Beauty Nightgown and Nightshirt. On nights and weekends when I am not in the mood to be a sexy thang, this is the kind of sleep shirt I love. I go for the shorter version. This will look great in a cotton shirting like this Striped Cotton Shirting in Blue and White.

The third one I want want want is the Bel-Air Lounging Pajamas. I just love the idea of making it with Silk Charmeuse in True Red, using the face for the bulk of the garment, and the matte reverse for the trim. I’ll probably make a camisole to wear underneath the robe. I like camis with my jammies. The rest of the collection looks great too. But these are the three that I’m going to buy.

I’m almost done with my dress. I got slowed up earlier this week when I got some news that knocked the wind out of my sails. But today I sat down and put it all together except the CB seam. I’m debating between a lapped zipper application or an invisible zip. I think I’ll go for the latter. I hope to have it finished by Sunday night.

Tomorrow is the monthly meeting for the New England Chapter of ASDP, of which I’m program chair. If you’re in the Boston/Worcester area, it’s going to be a great meeting and it’s open to the public! The speaker is Jennifer Stern of J Stern Designs. She’s giving a talk on making jeans, with lots of samples, examples and demonstrations. The details are as follows:
Date: Saturday November 14, 2009
Time: 1:00 PM
Cost: Free for ASDP members, $20 for the general public. It’s going to be worth it!
Address/Directions: 12 Woodward Avenue, Berlin, MA
From Route 495:Take the RT-62 W exit, EXIT 26, toward BERLIN/CLINTON. Turn LEFT onto MA-62/COOLIDGE ST. Continue to follow MA-62.  2.0 miWoodward Ave. is on the right and Town Hall is on the hill to the left at #12 Woodward Ave.

That’s all for now. I’m tired. It looks like it’ll be a good weekend to finish my dress. I’ll post pictures and lots of information as soon as it’s done.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics, HotPatterns, J. Stern, McCalls. Bookmark the permalink.