My Mojo’s a No-Show

I’ve been trying to work up excitement over making my chiffon skirt, and I’m coming up blank. I have it mostly cut out, and I started hand-basting the seams together, then I just wanted to run screaming from the room. Not for any reasons of frustration, just because I don’t feel like working on it right now. Sigh… Ennui has set in. Yesterday was Columbus Day in the US (Happy Thanksgiving to my Canadian friends, too!), and the kids were home from school. I worked most of the day, but I took lunch hour to buy DS the youngest a new mattress. Then after I got back to the office, I figured I’d take some time to work on basting the skirt and… nada. I went back to the computer and entered new fabrics. I think part of it is that I have a hankering to make something from wool. It’s getting cold here and it’s supposed to get steadily colder as the week goes on. And they are talking about a Nor’easter starting on Friday with snow possible up in NH and some of the higher elevations. Makes me long for something toasty rather than floaty.

So here’s what I’m thinking. I’ll leave the chiffon skirt on the worktable and come back to it soon. But I think I’m going to make this McCalls Pattern
in this fabric
It’s a Loro Piana wool plaid that I bought from a high-end men’s store that went out of business. I’ve had it in my stash for a while now. Although now that I am thinking more about it I may decide to make a pair of pants. I have enough fabric (4 yards plus, at 65 inches wide) to make both.

What I like about the dress pattern is that it has bodice pieces for B/C/D cups. I’ll still make a muslin, but that option makes life a bit easier. Oh, here’s a helpful hint for you if you are thinking of working with wool. My friend Pam posted this tip on her blog about pre-shrinking wools. (Scroll down the page to the post titled “How To Pre-Shrink Wool…Fast and Easy at Home!”) I tried it yesterday and it worked beautifully! Definitely pre-shrink her way when you are going to work with woolens. It turns out great and saves money.

It’s pouring here today, so this will be a good project. My mojo and I will attempt to make a muslin and let you know how it goes.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in McCalls. Bookmark the permalink.