Tutorial: A Better Way to Attach a Collar Band

A couple of folks asked me for some clarification on how I attached the collar band, so here’s a picture tutorial. I’ve made another Simplicity 2603 tank. This time I made it from our Flowers in Showers jersey, which is not sold out.

First up, apply your interfacing to one collar band front and back section.

Once that is done, sew the interfaced sections together at the shoulders, then sew the uninterfaced sections together at the shoulders. The uninterfaced section is the collar facing.

With right sides together, sew the collar to the collar facing at the neckline opening.

Turn right sides out. Understitch your collar facing. Press. Baste raw edges together.

Now you have just one piece to attach to the garment. Using a zigzag stitch or a serger, attach the raw edges of the collar band to the garment.

Press the serged edges down toward the garment. Sew the rest of your garment as usual. With this attachment method, you don’t have to topstitch the collar band, though you can if you wish. Here’s the front of the finished collar.

And here’s the back.
HTH. Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.