It IS a Woman’s Perogative to Change Her Mind

Yes, I said I was going to make a jacket. No, I still haven’t found that damned muslin. So on Monday of last week I grabbed my dress form that is closest to my current measurements and started draping a bustier. On Tuesday during lunch, I basted it and then tried it on and tried (hah!) to do some fitting on me. After 20 minutes of futility, I decided that I would wait until the class. I’m glad I did. I’ll talk all about the process later, but here’s the project in its almost current state:

The lace is a corded, beaded French lace. The underlay is silk duchesse satin. The backing of the underlay is muslin. So far the toughest part was actually cutting the lace. But it’s coming together and will be a spectacular outfit for my next singing recital. Good thing I don’t have a date yet. I need to get this baby (and the accompanying silk chiffon skirt) finished first. More later…

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Classes, Couture, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.