A Jacket It Is!

I’m taking a couture sewing class late this week. Hallelujah, I finally get to learn from someone else! It’s a directed study class. Some students are making formalwear, some are making Chanel style jackets, some are making pants. I’m kind of over my Chanel jacket jones for the moment. I’ve made several, every one of which I love and wear. I’ve been going back and forth trying to decide what to make. The choices have been a heavy duty corset or a YSL style jacket. But since my favorite designer has always been YSL, I decided I want to work on a YSL style jacket. Besides, while I can definitely use a lace corset for singing gigs, I’ll get more use from the jacket. Paco’s Facebook vote was the one that threw me over the top (along with everyone else’s). Alas, I haven’t time to make a muslin of the Marfy I was thinking of. But I did buy this Claire Shaeffer Vogue pattern and I’ll make up a muslin of that:

You know, now that I think of it, I DO have the Marfy muslin all traced and cut. Where did I put that? Stay tuned, I may change my mind yet again. Don’t worry, it will all be done in time for the class. I’ll bring my home sewing machine with me on the train if I need to and sew on a table. That should wig out the conductors, eh?

I have no idea what fabric I’ll use. I’ll probably buy that while I’m at the class. I’m having a hard time motivating myself. I’m not sure if it’s residual from being sick, if it’s the weather (Hurricane Bill has pulled out of here, but it’s still going to be muggy through tomorrow) or if it’s something else. I’m really hoping this class can revitalize my mojo.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Classes, Couture, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.