The Fabric, the Haul

Here’s the fabric I’m using for my McCall’s shirtdress:
It is a lightweight cotton with metallic embroidery all over its face. It’s pushing the envelope for this pattern just a little, because it’s lighter weight than I think is generally recommended, but I really like it and I think it will work up well.

On a sadder note, one of my students sent me a note that Charrette, a local art-supply dealer, is going out of business. Today is their last day, and everything was 60% off their lowest price. I have always recommended their tracing paper to my students, so they will be sorely missed. I stocked up on a couple of things, including cream and yellow tracing paper (they had sold out of the white trace). I also got a french curve, a flexi-curve and a compass. It will be great for making circular ruffles.
I guess I’ll have to buy my tracing paper online. Here’s a hint for you. Forget the tracing paper they sell at fabric stores. It’s way overpriced! You can buy 36 inch wide, 50 yard rolls at most art supply stores (including Blick Art Supply, nayy) for much, much less. And the rolls come in all different sizes.

Parting Shot: Sunflowers
I took advantage of the weather to transplant my poor sunflowers. I had three of them in a pot. They were doing okay, but they were starting to get rootbound. So I planted them next to the garden. They are usually covered with little bees gathering pollen.
Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in McCalls, Tools. Bookmark the permalink.