Pattern Review – McCall 5857 Shorts

Happy Memorial Day Weekend! Yesterday it was 90º, today it’s 59º. I love New England! It’s supposed to be around 80 tomorrow. Yep, like the saying goes, if you don’t like the weather here, wait a minute. It’ll change. To prep for summer, I made a pair of shorts from McCalls 5857. As you may know, I’ve been working on a pretty complex Marfy Jacket Pattern. It’s great to work on, but it is intense, so I need something to keep me on track while I work on the muslin. This has been the tracker.

Pattern Description: From the website, “MISSES’ SHORTS IN FOUR LENGTHS: Shorts A, B, C, D, E, F have front mock fly, slanted side seam pockets, back darts, waistband and carriers; shorts B, D have turned-up cuffs; shorts F have side slits and length is 3″ above mid-knee; the upper edge of waistband is at waistline for all shorts.”

I made View D. The longer cuffed shorts.

Sizing: 4-20. I made a straight 14.

Fabric Used: Medium Wash Non-stretch Denim from Gorgeous Fabrics (well, yeah!)
Needle/Notions Used: Universal 80/12 needle. Weft insertion interfacing from Fashion Sewing Supply.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes

How were the instructions? They were very good.

Construction Notes: Nothing earth shattering. This pattern was drafted very well. I decided to add a CB seam to the waistband (it’s a one-piece) in case I needed to change it for fit. I did scoop out the back crotch seam to make it an L shape. I finished all seams with a serger. And I used contrast thread for the topstitching. You can see the topstitching and the back seam here:

Any changes? Just those noted above.

Likes/Dislikes: This is a great pattern. I made it from denim this time, but I have seersucker, linen and more denim to use for shorts. I desperately need shorts and this is a great pattern for my summer wardrobe. Other than changing the back crotch curve to an L, I didn’t need to do any fitting adjustments.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? Yes and a hearty Yes!

Conclusion: Great pattern! Here’s the finished version. I apologize that you have to see it on Shelly. I had a mole removed from my right leg this week, so I have six stitches and a humongous bandage. It doesn’t make for good styling. And you know I’m not going to show up If I can’t style it properly. Bandages just don’t do it unless you’re Azzedine Alaia. Here it is pinned up on Shelley:

Parting Shot
Phyllis and her family came over for lobster dinner, and her DH and mine had on shirt cousins. I had made DH an aloha shirt several years ago, and I gave Phyllis the fabric I had left, which she used to make her DH a shirt. So here they are:

Nice shirts, fellas!
We’ll be closed on Monday, May 25 in observance of Memorial Day here in the US. Any orders that come in over the weekend will be processed and shipped after Monday.

Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in McCalls, Patterns, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.