Life’s a B*tch

And so am I. No, seriously. I realized today that I’ve let too much get to me, and it spilled out and I took it out on someone who had nothing to do with anything. I’ve apologized to her, and I hope she forgives me, but if not I’ll understand why.

And on top of that, I was talking with a customer today who has been having problems. I got frustrated and snapped at her. She then said, “Why did you hurt my feelings?” It turns out she has a terminal illness, which I didn’t know, and she has to go into assisted living. I just started to cry. We ended up talking for about an hour. And honestly, I think talking to her was the best thing that happened to me in about the last month. She helped me realize that I’ve been not enjoying myself. Except for Easter, I have not sung at all since Christmas. Even sewing has been distinctly un-joyous. My family is great, but I feel like I spend all my waking hours away from them at the computer.

So that’s it. I don’t make new years resolutions, but I am resolved to do more things that I love, and when the end of the business day hits, finis. I’m done. Nothing is so important that it should take precedence over my family, my health and my sanity.

Now I’m off to work on “Summertime” and enjoy listening to my friend Richard sing “I Got Plenty of Nothin'”

So please forgive me. And Vicki? Thanks

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.