Pattern Review – Jalie 2910 Faux Wrap Top


While I wait to get my Marfys, I decided to make a top from one of Jalie’s new patterns. I bought all four when they became available last month.

Pattern Description: From Jalie’s website, “Women’s knit tops with forward shoulder seam, banded surplice neckline, sleeveless or with three-quarter sleeve. View A has a neckband that goes all around. View B has a mandarin collar and banded front neckline.” I made the sleeveless version of View A.

Sizing: Every last one. I made a V

Fabric Used: Cotton blend jersey that I bought when I was in New York last. I used Wide Silk Jersey in Tangerine for the contrast neckband.

Needle/Notions Used: Stretch needle 75/11. Tricot knit interfacing from Fashion Sewing Supply to stabilize the shoulders, Steam-a-Seam (yes Karla, Steam-a-Seam) on the front only, Mettler thread.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes. One thing to note about this pattern is that it is LONG. I hemmed it the recommended 3/4″, and it is down below my hips. I’m not especially shortwaisted, but I’m not longwaisted by any means. I think I’ll take about 2 inches off and re-hem.

How were the instructions? I took a cursory look but I really didn’t need them. this is a very well drafted pattern, and it goes together beautifully. The instructions are quite adequate if you do use them.

Construction Notes: My kids were playing with my camera and set it to manual focus, and I didn’t realize it until too late, so I didn’t get a picture of how I used Steam-a-Seam. The front has two identical pieces overlaid on one another. You then turn the hems together and stitch them as one. To keep them from shifting, I used Steam-a-Seam between the two layers. After applying it, they were a cinch to turn and sew as one. I also used 3/8″ strips of interfacing in the shoulder seams of the back to stabilize them.

One thing to note about this top is that it’s clearly drafted as a sleeved top. You use the same pieces for both the sleeved and the sleeveless versions. As with other tops that are drafted this way, I found that if you make the sleeveless version and you have any bit of a bust, you must add a bust dart. I didn’t need a FBA, and I suspect if I had made up the sleeves the problem would not be so obvious. But without the sleeves, there is a gap at the front of the armhole. A dart took care of it, and I’ll adjust the pattern to remove the excess for future versions.

Any changes? Just those noted above

Likes/Dislikes: I like the wrap effect. It’s a cute pattern that will be great for summer. The only thing I don’t really like is the length, and that’s easy to fix.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? Yes and yes!

Conclusion: A great basic top that will be a staple in my wardrobe, I’m sure! Here’s a picture on Shelley.

BTW, you’ll notice my wrap overlay goes from the left shoulder to the right hip. Yeah – that was intentional. Riiiiight…
Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Jalie, Patterns, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.