I’ve Ordered the Marfy

Thanks for your input folks! I think Phyllis pegged it for me when she said the Burda, fabulous though it is, is more Armani than YSL. I really want the YSL sharp shoulders look. So I ordered two Marfy patterns: the green one in my previous post and this one:

I’ll evaluate both of them and make a final decision when I have them in hand. Though I’m probably going to stick with my first choice. I have lots of fabrics that I can make into this jacket. And for fun, I ordered this skirt

I love the seaming detail on it, and it will be a nice change of pace for the summer. I even have some appropriately garish bright orange poplin for it. With a little tee or tank, it could be lots of fun for summer.

Boston Area Class Alert
For those of you in the eastern Mass/southern NH area, I’ll be offering a “Saturday Series” starting in May. It’s going to be a series of 4 classes, each two hours long, from 10AM to noon on Saturdays running May 9 to June 6 (no class on May 23, Memorial Day weekend). Each class will be self-contained and will teach one technique or related set of techniques. The four classes are:

Hand Picked Zipper with embellishments
Foolproof Welt Pockets
Designer Seam Finishes
Padstitching techniques for tailored jackets

The classes are $35 each or $100 for the series of four. Classes are limited to 6 participants. If you are interested and you’re not on the class mailing list yet, drop me an email at ann “at” gorgeous fabrics(all one word) “dot” com. I’ll send you the email with details.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Classes, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.