Tip – Strengthening Spaghetti Straps

Here’s an oldie but goodie. It’s particularly useful now that we are into the prom/cotillion/bridal sewing season.

When making a spaghetti-strapped dress out of heavy (or even mid-weight) material, I reinforce the straps by drawing drapery cord through the finished strap tubes. The cording is 1/16″ wide, so it adds strength without adding bulk. It also prevents the strap from stretching, which can be a problem if it’s cut on the bias or cut from a loosely woven or elasticized material. And it eases my mind about whether there will be any ’embarrassing moments’ while wearing!

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Tips. Bookmark the permalink.