Another Spring-like Top

I won’t bother to review it, since it is another J Stern Designs Tee. But I made another springy top to put me in the mood for warmer weather! I used another rayon jersey from Gorgeous Fabrics. This time I used 11 oz. Rayon Jersey in Blue Skies. I cut a size medium (definitely going to be a “thin day” top). I constructed it pretty much as usual, with the exception of the neckline. Rather than following the pattern’s instructions for applying the neckband, I did what I call the Kwik Sew method. For a size medium, I cut a 20 inch by 1 inch strip of the rayon jersey on the crosswise wale. I sewed the ends together in a 1/4 inch seam, and divided the band into quarters, marking each with a pin.

I divided the neckline similarly, placing pins at center front, center back, and halfway between on either side. I matched up the pins, sewed the band to the neckline, easing the neck onto the band and thereby snugging it up, and voila! A successful neckline with no hassle!
I have another 11 oz. jersey that I think I’ll make into a Jalie tee next. Stay tuned!

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in J. Stern, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.