Pattern Review – BWOF 2-2009 108 Top

Toby and LuckyLibbet are right. The grumps are out and about, and the only thing to do is get zen about it and go on with life. So to that end, I did two things to put myself in a very good mood today. I listened to a couple of Mozart symphonies – if more people would listen to Mozart, the world would be a happier place – and I made myself a springy colored top!


Pattern Description: Roses for Leo the leopard! This top with 3/4 sleeves and bateau neckline is simply cut, allowing the unusual fabric with its stitched-on satin stripes and extravagant floral & animal print to tell the story

Sizing: 36-44. I made a 40

Fabric Used: 11 oz Rayon Jersey in Soft Violet from Gorgeous Fabrics (of course!)

Needle/Notions Used: Stretch 75/11, Stretch Twin 4,0 75 needle for the hems (I was too lazy to go out to the studio and fire up The Beast), Fusible Tricot for stabilizing the shoulders.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Other than the fact that the model is blonde, young and thin and I’m not, yeah.

How were the instructions? Hahahahahahahahaha! Snort!
Seriously, this is a very easy pattern to make. You really don’t need the instructions.

Construction Notes: I serged all the seams. I put fusible interfacing at the shoulders to stabilize. I think it would have benefited from stabilizing the neckline as well, especially this fabric, which is very soft. I added 1/4 inch seams at the sides and sleeves. I made the hems all 1/2 inches.

Any changes? Nope. I could have done a slight FBA and added a dart, but you know what? I wanted something quick and easy that I can pull on and go. If I do it again, and I probably will, I’ll go down a size to a 38 and do a FBA.

Likes/Dislikes: I love bateau neck tops. I wanted to make something quick that I can wear now in to spring. This fit the bill perfectly. No dislikes, though it is worth noting that the neckline is wide (read, “Not bra-friendly”).

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? Yes and yes. This is a great top for beginners. It went together in less than an hour. The longest time was spent tracing it off and adding seam allowances.

Conclusion: A winner! Here you can see it on me:

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Burda, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.