Pattern Review – Kwik Sew 2740

Pattern Description: From Kwik Sew’s Website, “These tops are designed for stretch knits only with 50% stretch across the grain. We suggest using fabric with spandex-Lycra¨, cotton-Lycra¨, stretch velvet, panne or stretch lace.

The tops are close fitting. View A and B have long sleeves. View A has a turtleneck and View B has a mock turtleneck. View C has short sleeves and a crew neckband.”

Sizing: XS-XL. Please note, that unlike the description, these tops are NOT close fitting. They run very large. I made a medium, and I should have made a small. The finished dimensions on the pattern piece are incorrect.

Fabric Used: Get Ziggy With It jersey from Gorgeous Fabrics.

Needle/Notions Used: Stretch 75/11 needle, fusible tricot from Sew Exciting Fashion Sewing Supply.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? It’s much less fitted than the illustration would indicate.

How were the instructions? They were typical Kwik Sew – fine.

Construction Notes: Aside from the sizing issue, this pattern is very well drafted. I shortened the sleeves to bracelet length (my current favorite). I serged all seams and finished the hems with a narrow zigzag stitch.

Any changes? None

Likes/Dislikes: Like the style, dislike the sizing.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? I would do it, and I would recommend it for beginners as long as you go into it with the knowledge that you’ll need to size down.

Conclusion: A well drafted, but only okay, pattern. Here’s a picture of it on Shelley:
And here’s a picture with the Burda Jumper
Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Kwik Sew, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.