Pattern Review – Simplicity "Project Runway" 2733 Top


Pattern Description: Tops with variations in sleeve, neckline and hem. I made the “bubble top” with 3/4 length sleeves and the scooped neckline.

Sizing: 4-20

Fabric Used: A sold-out silver and black knit and Poly Matte Jersey, both from Gorgeous Fabrics

Needle/Notions Used: Stretch 75/10 needle. Gutterman thread, 1/4 inch elastic for the sleeve ruching:

1 inch (?!?!! – more on that later) for the “bubble” hem.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yeah

How were the instructions? Here’s where I had my biggest problem. I thought they were all over the place. Simplicity gives you a whole bunch of options for personalizing and adding “Designer Details” (sorry, no they aren’t). Because of this, the instructions have no real flow. I found them to be more distracting than helpful. If I were a beginner sewist, I think this would land in the trash after a short time. If you want to make this pattern, I suggest you get a good sewing book use that as a reference.

Construction Notes: This pattern has a bodice and a bodice overlay. I think that’s a lotta layers, and I decided to eliminate the bodice piece and turn it into a princess-style bodice inset. In 20-20 hindsight, I’m not crazy about how it turned out, but I still think it’s better than the overlay. For this design, the overlay seems like a cop-out. There’s a better design option. I think the inset is it, but I’m not happy with the one I made. I’d make it wider if I were to do it again. Here are how the pattern pieces morphed:

Two pattern pieces to start

Inset draft

Resulting inset piece

Likes/Dislikes: I was initially attracted to this pattern because it reminded me of the Spiderlily pattern that Sewing Diva Phyllis reviewed. I wanted something a little less formfitting and suitable for the remainder of winter. This seemed to fit the bill. I like the fact that Simplicity is trying to woo new sewers by capitalizing on the popularity Project Runway.

I did not like the way the directions were laid out. As I say, get a good basic sewing book to help you with the construction. I think the 1-inch waistband elastic is something no designer in the commercial world would ever use. It’s way too bulky. Use half-inch elastic if you make this. You’ll get better results that are closer to RTW. I also wasn’t crazy about the final silhouette. The pocket structure is too floppy for my taste and reminds me of maternity clothes, especially when you make the bubble. But that’s because of the way it looks on me, not because of the pattern itself. It could be a cute pattern on the right (17 year old) person. It wouldn’t be that bad under a cropped jacket, which is probably how I would wear it.

To give credit where credit is due, the pattern went together fine.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? No, and probably not. There are lots of cute patterns out there that will look better on me and yield better results for any sewer.

Conclusion: Not lovin’ it. Not disliking it, just not loving it. Here it is on Shelley (no sorry, she is not going up for sale)

Tomorrow I get to see Summerset! I can’t wait. I think I’m going to make those Easter egg colored tees next. The fabric is washed and prepped.

Parting Shot
Proud mama time…

You get to hear me talk about DS the younger quite a lot lately, thanks to the ballroom dance. Well today was the Scholars Brunch for DS the Elder’s class at the middle school. This is the only one to which parents are invited. He’s a scholars list student and has been every term since he got to the middle school. And today, he and two other boys did a saxophone trio of the first movement of Mozart’s 40th Symphony. They all did great, and I’m so proud of him! He’s the little guy on the left.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Patterns, Reviews, Simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.