Pattern Review – BWOF 9/2007 – 121 Jumper

Pattern Description: From Burda, “This saucy pinafore dress/ jumper is shows loads of Sixties’ swing! The hemline nips the knees, the waist seam is slightly raised and a wide, shaped, self-fabric belt cinches it to the waist. Wear it over a close-fitting turtleneck pullover for the true-to-style look.”

Sizing: 34-42. I made a 40

ETA BTW, if you don’t have this issue of Burda World of Fashion, the same pattern is available at your local Burda retailer as Burda 7761. And that version comes in sizes 32-42.

Fabric Used: Bamboo Blend Jersey from Gorgeous Fabrics in Asul (dark marine blue).

Alas, the blue is sold out, but I still have the Brown (Pardo) and Green (Verde).

Needle/Notions Used: Needle is Stretch 75/11. The only notion I used was thread.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes

How were the instructions? Typical Burda, meaning cryptic but understandable. This is a very easy little jumper to construct, so I took a rather cursory glance at them, then just dove in.

Construction Notes: As I say, this is a very easy dress to make. I did a couple of things differently from the Burda instructions. I used my own order of construction rather than theirs. I constructed the bodice and midriff bands and attached them, sewing the side seams together on both the bodice/midriff and the skirt before attaching the skirt to the bodice. It made no difference to the results. You can pretty much put this baby together in any order you want within reason and get a good outcome. I serged all seams and used The Beast to finish the hem. I forgot to stabilize the shoulders until it was too late, doh! opted not to use stabilizer on the shoulder seams and armholes.

One thing to note is that, at several points, you are sewing through a lot of layers of fabric. I basted all my seams together (except the side seams) before serging them to make sure that the layers didn’t shift. This adds a sum total of about 10 minutes to the sewing time, but I think it was well worth it. All my seams matched up perfectly.

Any changes? I lengthened the front bodice by about an inch so the empire seam would fall in the proper place. I tapered that to nothing at the side seams.

Likes/Dislikes: This is so cute, and it will make a great transitional piece from our never-ending winter to springtime. I’m trying to work a little more blue into my wardrobe and this is the starting point.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? I’m not sure if I will do it again, because it’s a pretty memorable style. But I do recommend it heartily. It’s a great dress for advanced beginners or up.

Conclusion: This is a cute, fun little dress, that will make a great transition piece. Here it is on Shelley:
And here is a closeup of the front bodice. You can see some of my basting threads, which I’ll go back and remove once I’m done with this review.
I’m going to make a top to go with it. Summerset got the KS turtleneck I wanted when she was at Martin’s House of Cloth yesterday, and next Thursday we’re going to get together for a pattern/fabric swap. I can’t wait!

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Burda, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.