What I Did Today

I taught a Brownie troop to sew!

This was so much fun. I was contacted by the leader of Troop 1608 here in town. This is a troop that consists of 1st to 3rd graders. They wanted to get a sewing badge, so I got the requirements and put together a class. We made tote bags. I have to tell you, these girls were SO CUTE! There were five of them, and they were so attentive. They were also incredibly fast learners! I told them all that I wanted them to come to my adult classes to show off for my students. They all decorated their bags and after we were finished I let them each pick out a fabric from the remnants I keep in the sewing studio. The nicest thing at the end was that they all started shouting, “I love sewing!” And they asked if they could come back in the spring to make something else.

I don’t have any pictures, but suffice it to say that it was one of the most fun sewing experiences I have ever had, and that is saying something. I’m still smiling from ear to ear. If you ever have the chance, and want to totally energize your sewing mojo, get yourself a Brownie troop and give them a class. You will be so glad you did.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Classes, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.