Next Up, a Ballroom Dance Dress

My Jalie Patterns arrived yesterday. Hooray! I have to say, ordering from Jalie.com is really a pleasure. They are efficient and fast. NAYY, just a happy customer.

So I received my patterns, and I am going to make a ballroom gown for Tatiana using 2801, the backless skating dress, as the base:

I’ll change the skirt to a floor length, 8 gore version. I’m making it from this fabulous burnout velvet I bought in New York back in the fall.

It’s really rich looking, and I like the way the panné effect of the velvet reflects the light. I think I’ll make the gores from sheer black fabric, though I’m not entirely decided on that yet. This needs to be complete (and so does the Latin dress) by February 7th. Good thing I have so much free time… Hahahahahahahaha! Snort!

Stay tuned and happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Ballroom, Design, Jalie. Bookmark the permalink.