Sewing Tip – Make the Lining First

Here’s an oldie-but-goodie (I first published it in 2002) that I was reminded of today when working on my coat. When working with a pattern that calls for a lining, I construct the lining first, especially if the lining is made from the same pattern pieces as the garment itself. This is useful for a number of reasons. First, when I am making up a pattern, once I get through the fashion fabric, the lining becomes *really boring*, and I am tempted to cut corners. By making the lining first, I avoid the feeling of “lining fatigue”. Second, and most importantly, by making the lining before setting shears or rotary cutter to fabric, I can check my fit, and use the lining as a faux muslin. This is not meant to replace a muslin, but it allows you to tweak fit and do some fine tuning before working on the outer garment fabric. You can then transfer any adjustments with a minimum of hassle.

I did this with the lining of my coat, and it really does make it less of a chore to make the lining.
Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Tips. Bookmark the permalink.