Pattern Review – Silhouettes Ann’s Top


What a great weekend. Emmett did a fantastic, informative and funny talk to the New England ASDP chapter, the Patriots made a solid win, and I finished my “Ann’s Top”. So does that make it Ann’s Ann’s Top? Or Ann’s2 Top? Either way, when I saw the name and the picture I figured I just had to make it. And I am glad I did – read on…

Pattern Description: Cowl neck long sleeved top for stretch knits only.

Sizing: Well, bizarre. They have you determine your size based on the finished garment measurements. It’s one approach. I neither like nor dislike it, but it can be kind of awkward. They tell you to measure your favorite garment of similar type and pick your size based on that. The size ranges go from 1-4 Misses and 5W-8W. For reference, I made my version in a size 3. One thing I really like about Peggy’s patterns is that she drafts the fronts in B/C/D cup sizes – no FBA, yay!

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes

How were the instructions? I honestly didn’t use them. But I did read through them and they were great. I really do like Peggy Sagers’ instructions. She lays things out really well for beginner/intermediate sewists.

Fabric Used: Cotton/Rayon/Lycra jersey in tan from Gorgeous Fabrics.

Any changes? None. I wanted to try this one straight out of the box, as it were. I used the C-cup version. I was quite pleased with the results.

Likes/Dislikes: I really like the cut of this pattern. The pattern also has modified French darts, which both allow it to be fitted nicely and give a nice line to it. The neckline is very flattering, IMO. The pattern is very well drafted and pretty much falls together. I also have to say that I just love this fabric. It’s like wearing jammies, it’s so comfortable.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it?Absolutely! This is a fantastic wardrobe builder. I have to admit that in the past, I have been less than impressed with the Silhouettes patterns I have made. But I only made jackets, and they have huge shoulder pads, which don’t work for me. I decided to take a chance when I saw the pre-order for the new patterns. And I am glad I did. This top is a total winner. It’s comfortable, it goes together in an afternoon, it’s well drafted and it is stylish.

One other construction note: I decided to try something different and I sewed the darts with my industrial serger (it was running, I hadn’t had coffee, I was yawning… you know how it is), which resulted in a passable but not couture finish. I also got to use my new coverstitch machine! I finally got around to having my dealer send me three sleeves of ballpoint needles. With an industrial, it really does make a difference which needles you use – the sharps were skipping stitches like crazy. Oh boy, I just lurve my industrial CS!

Conclusion: Two very big thumbs up! I do have a picture of me in it, but I have to wait until DH gets home to post it. He had the camera cable last and I can’t find it for the life of me. I’ll add it later this evening. And here it is…

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Reviews, Silhouettes Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.