Pattern Review – Jalie 2805 Tee Shirt

I’ve been pondering knit shirts lately and trying to decide what I wanted to make. I haven’t been in love with any of the Big Four patterns that I have in my stash. But then I was so impressed by Sewing Diva Phyllis’ Polo Shirt review that I wanted to make something similar. I had this pattern in my stash and pulled it out.

Pattern Description: From the Jalie website: “Choice of t-shirts with 4 sleeve lengths and 4 neckline variations: Jewel neck (A), Mock turtleneck (B), V-Neck (C), overlapped V-neck with decorative buttons (D).” I made View D.

Sizing: Every last one. I made a size U (a 12-14 Big 4 equivalent)

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes.

How were the instructions? They were great. This is a basic tee with a really nice neckline variation. The only tricky part is the neckline, and the illustrations walk you right through the process. I’m very impressed with Jalie (NAYY, I just am more impressed the more I sew them).

Fabric Used: A (sold out, sorry) jersey from Gorgeous Fabrics. If it helps, here’s what I’m going to use for the next one, and it’s not sold out: Love That Pompidou Jersey. I trimmed it with Extra Wide Rayon Jersey in Black.

Any changes? I did a FBA after doing a quick tissue fit. Other than that, nothing.

Likes/Dislikes: I really like the lines. I really like the look. I also love the fact that Jalie shirts are cut long. I usually add an inch or even more to many patterns, but with Jalie I don’t need to.

The only thing I didn’t like had nothing to do with the pattern. I used a no-name tricot interfacing on the neckband. That is not part of the instructions, but I wanted to add some body to the band. Unfortunately, it was stiffer than I wanted and caused slight ripples at the curvature. And drat it all, what arrived today but the good tricot interfacing I ordered from Sew Exciting. Oh well. Next time…

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? Absolutely. I will make it again. I’m going to wear it to New York tomorrow when I meet up with Carolyn and Lindsay T. More about that later!

Conclusion: A great pattern. A great top, with lots of variations. Here it is on Shelley.

And borrowing from Summerset, here is my parting shot. This is the view of the trees in our yard while waiting for the school bus this morning. I do love October in New England!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Jalie, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.