Saucy Secretary Part 2 – Finished Look

Ta daa! The Saucy Secretary is finished! The top, which I previously reviewed Here, is made from Kwik Sew 3093. The skirt is made from HotPatterns 24/7 Pencil Skirt:

I did a muslin before and reviewed it in This Post. That time I ran it up primarily for fitting and general construction. This time I did a few things differently. The biggest difference was that I lined the skirt.

Fabric: For the shell, I used a (sold out, sorry) “Just Gowachuss Wool Tweed” in heathered purples from Gorgeous Fabrics.

I lined it with a paisley purple and brown georgette that I have had in my stash for so long, I forget where it came from. I bought it when I was manufacturing accessories, and I have a ton of it. Georgette, as long as it’s not crepe georgette, makes a great lining. It’s like chiffon, but heavier, and it feels great. It slides beautifully too.

I interfaced the hem with Pro-Weft interfacing from Fashion Sewing Supply

Cosntruction Notes: There are a couple of things I did differently from the last version of this skirt. In addition to lining it, I decided to cut the waistband facings from the lining fabric to reduce bulk. I cut the facings a scant 1/8th of an inch shorter than the waistband. This was to ensure that the waistband rolled in towards the facings to eliminate any possibility of facing “peek out” at the top.

I also constructed the skirt slightly differently from the way most directions have you make skirts. I sewed the skirt to the waistband, then I sewed the lining to the facings. I inserted the invisible zipper in the shell, then I machine sewed the lining to the skirt, starting at one side of the zipper, across the top of the waistband facing and finishing at the other side of the zipper, all in one continuous line of stitches. I understitched the facing. To affix the lining and the skirt waistbands, I used the “stitch in the ditch” technique along the seam between the skirt and the band. You can see the results here:

There was only one thing I found odd about this pattern, and that was the lining. HotPatterns has you cut the lining out so you have a large “U” around the back vent.

It’s not a bad thing, it’s just different from the way most patterns are cut. So you may want to consider getting a good sewing book and cutting your lining in a more traditional fashion. As it is printed, you need to make sure your back seam allowances are finished. But that’s a pretty minor nit. Here is a view from the outside:

Conclusion:
I really love this version of the skirt. I highly recommend it. I think it will look fantastic in the cooler weather with my boots and my La Rue Bag. Today actually feels like early fall. The air is nice and crisp. It almost makes me want to wear it!

Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in HotPatterns, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.