Project for next week….

I just got a note from Rue La La that they are having a Muse event. I really love this dress:

But as you can imagine, my DH would look at me like I was nutz if I bought a knit dress, even if it is a fantastic bargain. Plus, my stash of knit fabrics is, well, pretty big these days. So rather than spending $75 on a dress from Muse, I’ll take inspiration from it instead and make my own.

If you take a close look at the front of the dress, you will notice that the bodice bears a striking resemblance to Jalie 2806:

So I’ll use that as the basis for the front of the dress. It will need some adjustments to the neckline to make it more of a V, but that will be easy.

The back:


actually has a very cool seaming/darting detail that is similar to this Vogue Pattern:

So I’ll use that as the basis for the back. The pattern is designed for wovens, but it will be easy to adjust for knits. I’m going to make it out of this fabric from Gorgeous Fabrics:

It will fit in well with the purple theme I have going for fall (Carolyn, I’m almost sewing with a plan!)

Yeah, sorry. It’s sold out.

Well, that gives me a hobby. DS the youngest is going to attempt to get his Open Water Diver certification this weekend. I’ll be with him on Saturday, but I think Sunday I’ll stay home and get to work on the Sexy Secretary Skirt and then this dress. Should be fun.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics, Fashion, Patterns, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.