What I’ve Been Up To


What an incredibly busy week this has been! Between Gorgeous Fabrics, the kids being out of school and needing transportation everywhere, out-of-town friends staying with us, cranking out an article and life, in general, I have had no time to blog! But I did get to have a couple of fun little adventures. On Thursday, my sister and I went to the Patriots’ pre-season opener. What fun! What a rip! Geez – parking two miles away is (brace yourself) $40. $40 to walk two miles! We looked at each other, said, “Screw that!” and pulled into the lot right across the street from the stadium, which cost $50. Hey, if I’m going to spend stupid amounts of money, I am going to at least get convenience. Besides, the tickets were a gift from my neighbor, Rosemary. She’s been a season ticket holder for years, and only recently found out that I’m a big fan. I have a standing offer to her that if she ever can’t use her tickets, I’ll pay a premium for them. And she knows I’m well behaved. Well, sort of. Most of the time. Um, hmmmmm….

Anyway, we had a great time at the game. None of the first stringers were playing of course, but we got to see some of the rookies, and there is some promise in the up and comers. Alas, Tank Williams went out for the season with a knee injury in the 3rd quarter. I hate to see any player get hurt. And Williams was looking mighty good up until then. The Pats lost to the Ravens. Oh well – DSis and I went to Davios at Patriot Place and had appetizers. Then when we got out and started driving home, we hit one of the worst thunderstorms I’ve driven through in ages. You couldn’t see more than 2 feet in front of the hood. Yikes!

Did I tell you DS the eldest got sick of the politics of local Pop Warner Football and decided not to play this year? Let me just say that I have been enjoying August for the first time in 5 years. Except for the weather. What the heck is up with weather in the Northeast this year, anyway? As I said to DH, if I wanted to live in this climate, I would move to Florida! We’ve been having big (and I do mean BIG) thunderboomers every afternoon for over a week. And it shows no sign of letting up. My tomatoes love it. My cucumbers are not happy. Poor Hoover has been parking himself under my desk every day. The weather makes it difficult for the kids to do their outdoor camp activities too. Well, I suppose at some point I’ll miss this weather. Most likely when the temperature is hovering around 20 deg. F and oil is $5.00 per gallon.

Hopefully next week will be a little less crazed. As it is I did make time to do some sewing. More about that in the next post.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Football, Miscellaneous, Patriots. Bookmark the permalink.