Saucy Secretary Part 1 – KS 3093

It’s August, which means fall is approaching at lightning speed. I decided I want to make a “Sexy Secretary” outfit for fall, and I’m using the HP Pencil Skirt that I Reviewed Here. For the top. I decided on a simple turtleneck. I’ve made this pattern a couple of times before, and I have always liked it. But to tell you the truth, I don’t love it so much in its current iteration. I think the fabric may have something to do with it. The last time I made this was from a Wool Jersey. Maybe it’s the fabric. Maybe it’s my expectations that have changed. I was able to make it work, but it needed tweaking and I needed to take it in significantly.

I started with my usual Size Small-to-Medium (I redrew the cutting lines right between the two sizes). I made the top from a wonderful rayon jersey in dark eggplant from Gorgeous Fabrics. The problem was the fit. Maybe it’s because of the softness and stretch of the rayon. The last two times I made it from jerseys that had about 35% stretch in the crossgrain. This fabric has 50% stretch. I ended up taking it in two inches on each side seam and it’s still not tight! I think in the future I’ll raise the armhole. It’s pretty low. I’ll also start with an Extra-Small next time and just do a FBA to give it the room through the bust.

Now don’t get me wrong. It doesn’t look bad. But I will definitely change it up when I make it again. I may also try a different pattern. But in the meantime this top will suffice. Here’s a picture of it on Shelley, the dress form:

The wonkiness at the shoulder is because Shelley has tears in her shoulder fabric. The seams are just fine.

Next up will be the skirt, but I need to reline a coat first. Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Kwik Sew, Patterns, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.