The Best Leather Cleaner Out There

I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth lately – sorry to disappoint those who hoped I had 😉 I’ve just been massively busy. That’s a good thing, but it does make it difficult to keep the blog updated on a regular basis. Lots of interesting stuff is happening. Stay tuned for that…

No, as I say, I’ve just been busier than a one-armed paper hanger. The HP skirt muslin is done, and I’ll review it tomorrow. Check your emails for the latest and greatest newsletter and sale at Gorgeous Fabrics. And check out this little tip. I’ve not only been busy, but I made a stealth trip to New York. While there, I went to Leather, Suede, Skins, my favorite leather vendor. I used to buy from them when I was making handbags, and I still love them for leather for personal bags. The next iteration of the HP Homage Tote is sitting waiting for the leather for the back. And of course, I had to buy a couple of other amazing skins while I was there, right?


Anyway, on to the subject at hand. While at Leather, Suede, Skins, I picked out two lambskin hides. One of them was pretty dusty, but Alla, the owner, said, “Here, let me show you a trick.” She pulled out a can of Lemon Pledge and a rag, sprayed the leather and wiped it. Wow! What a difference! The leather looked fantastic. And according to Alla, it’s just as good for lubricating the leather as any of the more expensive leather treatment products out there. It’s also great if you have a leather bag that has gotten dusty sitting in your closet. So don’t bother with the $12 Coach leather cleaner. A spray can of Pledge will work as well for a lot less money.

Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Fabrics, New York, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.