A Short Detour


Tomorrow morning DH is flying to DC for the weekend to visit his dad. It will be his dad’s birthday (one ending in 0), so all three kids are flying in for it. We inlaws were kind of specifically dis-invited (not for any bad reasons, mostly b/c of transportation costs, baseball season, MCAS tests and such). All three kids pitched in and got DFiL a laptop computer. So I volunteered to make a leather sleeve for it. That’s what I worked on today. I made it the same way I made my Silver Lambskin Laptop Sleeve. This time I used a black lambskin that was slightly heavier than the original silver. It all went together great. Remember if you sew with leather, use a teflon foot to ease your stitching. Also, use a specialized leather needle, and use binder clips to hold the pieces together. This took about an hour to make from start to finish, and I think DFiL will like it!

Tomorrow I’ll get the Burda dress well underway. I think tonight I will head out to JoAnn and see if they have any halfway interesting snaps for closures on the dress.

Oh who am I kidding? I should just buy them from SnapSource.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Handbags, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.