Pattern Review – Jalie 2682 V-Neck Top


I bought a bunch of Jalie patterns recently. I love the “Buy Three get the Fourth Free” deal that they have on their website. This was one of my acquisitions. Yesterday I had a little time, so I pulled it out, traced it off and ran it up.

Pattern Description: From the Jalie Website, “Stylish V-neck top, raised neckline at back, with or without sleeves. View A has a zipper at front neckline for more coverage.” I made View B, the sleeveless V-neck

Sizing: All of them, from little children’s to plus size. I made a size U. I think I could have gone down to a T with no ill effects.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes!

How were the instructions? They were good. The front bodice is self-lined, which I really like. It took me a couple of minutes to figure out the construction, but the illustrations (once the coffee started to take effect and my brain started working) were quite clear.

Fabric Used: Fan-Dango jersey (alas, now sold out) from Gorgeous Fabrics (natch).

Any changes? FBA on the front bodice. Other than that, nothing. On the next one, I think I’ll play around a bit with the upper bodice and V, to shape it a bit more.

Likes/Dislikes: The construction on this is really clever. I love the bodice, and I think the style lines are very flattering to many figures. I also really like the length (Jalie makes their tops nice and long, so I don’t have to worry if I’m wearing lower-cut jeans, or if I want to tuck the top in.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? A resounding “Yes!” to both questions. I will definitely sew this up. It takes less than a yard of fabric in my size, so it’s a great way to use up stash scraps. I can also see this being a fave-rave for sleeved tops in wool or silk jersey for the winter.

Conclusion: I can’t believe it has taken me this long to discover the joys of Jalie. I’m totally hooked on their patterns. They have three more being released in the next couple of weeks, so I suspect I’ll be buying more very soon.

One other little note. I highly recommend buying from Jalie’s website. I was very happy with the speed of delivery and the ease of dealing with them. Excellent patterns, excellent service. NAYY, just a satisfied customer.

I’ll post a picture later today. I’m having lunch with Carolyn, whom I haven’t seen in a dog’s age, so I’ll get a picture then.

Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Jalie, Patterns, Plugs, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.