What’s on Your Nighttable?

There are lots of memes going around now. I don’t usually participate in them, mostly because I don’t know when I’ve been tagged in 99% of the cases. So if you have tagged me on any memes and you don’t see me taking part, please don’t be insulted. It’s because I have no clue.

But I have been catching up on my blog reading today, and I saw that LindsayT tagged me for the latest meme – a literary one. I like this one a lot. It’s interesting to see what people are reading (LindsayT – I’m with you. Me Talk Pretty Some Day is one of my favorites!)

Anyway, the game goes like this:

1. Pick up the nearest book.
2. Open to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people, and acknowledge who tagged you.

I feel like Geekster McGeek here. The nearest book is The History of United States Naval Operations in World War II, Leyte (June 1944 – January 1945). It is Volume 12 of the series written by Samuel Eliot Morison. There’s a fascinating story in itself, but I’ll save that for later. I inherited the entire series when my father died. He was an Army officer in WWII, but I swear he should have been in the Navy. He had a great love for all things naval. But I digress.

Here are the sentences:
‘Half an hour’s shore bombardment left the Japanese still frisky. A 75-mm shell struck the forward stack of Goldsborough at 1542, killing two men, but the ship sustained only minor damage. At 1550 her boats returned with the UDTs, which had enjoyed a good look at the landing beaches: they reported that “Chick” Parsons was right – no underwater obstacles or mines, and beaches very suitable for landing.’

That last one is pretty run-on, eh? Sister Celia would have marked me down for it!
I think all the sewers I know have been tagged at this point. So I’ll tag some of my non sewing friends:
Bill
Kanani
Casey
Thombeau
and of course, my darlings Tom and Lorenzo

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Sites to See. Bookmark the permalink.