Pattern Review – Vogue 1015 Alice + Olivia Pants


I realized that, other than two pairs of decent jeans, 1 pair of extremely low-cut twill pants and 4 pairs of really ratty jeans with holes in them, I have no decent pants for summer. Casual pants, I mean. So I decided that for my next completed project (the Chanel dress is still there – I need some time and a pattern decision on the jacket before I finish) I desperately needed a pair of trousers that I can wear around every day. So, this one got bumped to the top of the pattern heap.

Pattern Description: (from the Vogue Website) Slightly flared legged pants A, B (semi-fitted through the hip) have below-waistline contour waistband with fly zipper closing, front and back welt pockets, back button loops. A: contrast welts and loops. A, B: contrast waistband facing. B: turn back cuffs.

I made a hybrid of A and B. I made the A version, but with self-fabric welts and facings.

Sizing: 4 to 18. I made a 12, and I could probably go down to a 10 with slim seams.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? I think so. Of course, I make it look better! (hahahaha, snort!)

How were the instructions? Decent. If you know me, you know that I’ll look at the instructions, then do it my own way. I will say that I don’t care for the instructions on inserting the welts. They leave you flying blind. Seriously. You’re working from the wrong side of the garment, and it’s too easy to slip and make it look terrible. I’ll post my instructions on how to do these welts after I finish this review.

Fabric Used: Oh Captain, My Captain Stretch Twill from Gorgeous Fabrics (has anyone gotten the joke yet?).

Any changes? None. This pattern has an interesting crotch curve. It’s not quite the “L curve” of HotPatterns, but it is much closer than any other Vogue pattern I have used before. I tried it as-is for this version and it works fine. I think I may refine it if I do it again.

Likes/Dislikes: I really liked the cut of these pants, and like I said, I need pants rather desperately. They sit about 1 to 1.5 inches below the natural waist, which I like. It’s not the Mom Jeans look, but neither do I have to worry about how long my top is when I sit down or bend over. I also used buttons given to me by a Very Dear Friend (thanks Gigi!) for the back welts:

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? Yes, and Yes This is not by any stretch a beginners’ pattern. You need to be very careful about welt and pocket placement to make sure these turn out right. The welts are central design features, and I think that following the instructions will make it difficult to get them right.

Conclusion: Definitely a keeper. Here’s a picture on a dress form. I’ll ask DH to get a picture on me tomorrow.

P.S. Toby got the joke, such as it is. The name of the fabric comes from one of my absolute favorite poems (Walt Whitman – “Oh Captain, My Captain” from Leaves of Grass). The irony is that, while it’s one of the loveliest poems in American Literature, it’s also mightily depressing. I didn’t say it was a funny joke.

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Reviews, Vogue. Bookmark the permalink.