My Weekend

Okay, kittens, I just know you are dying of curiosity to find out how I spent my weekend, right? Right? Anyone? Beuhler?

Well, anyway, I went to a great seminar given by Shirley Willett on patternmaking. Shirley is a real treasure. She has been a designer, manufacturer and educator in the Boston area since the 1950s. She’s just a hair under 75, though you would never guess it to look at her or listen to her. She has boundless energy and enthusiasm, and she gave a great intro seminar for ASDP (formerly PACC) members. All of us came away with templates for our own basic sloper and knowledge of how to adapt the base pattern to other styles. It was great! Here are some pictures:




It was a great seminar. On the way home (I drove Shirley) we talked about future seminars. She really loved teaching the ASDP folks – as she put it, it’s a great group of women (it is!) and the fact that we all know how to sew makes her job much easier than when she teaches designers and students who haven’t got the sewing skills.

So, now it’s back to work. If she does another seminar I’ll post it here. She is wonderful and inspirational. And my god, that woman has forgotten more than most of us will ever know about fit, patternmaking and construction!

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.