Making a Little Progress

Thank God this is a princess line jacket! I am tracing the Marfy onto muslin with 1 inch SAs. I’m going to definitely need a FBA and probably need to lower the bust point an inch or so. But once that is done, I’m going to shorten the jacket (looks too much like a work outfit if I have it come to the hips). I’m going to quilt the jacket and the lining fabric together and make it a la Chanel Haute Couture. I’m debating now. The pattern has a ruffle at the bottom. I could make that of the silk crepe de chine that I’ll use for the lining. But I’m not sure if that will look too “too”. Here’s a picture of the pattern:

Whaddya think? Ruffle or no? The ruffle definitely makes it more playful, but with the dress? Not so sure….

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Chanel Style Dress. Bookmark the permalink.