Not-so-instant Replay: Deconstructed Skirt


Well, as long as I’m republishing the jacket, I figure I might as well put up the skirt I made to go with it. This pattern is based on Butterick 4614.

Pattern Description: Misses skirt variations. Straight with kick pleats or A-line with godets. I made View C.

Pattern Sizing: 6-24

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the envelope No, but that was intentional

How were the instructions? I didn’t use them because I changed the pattern and style significantly. Looking at them now, they seem very straightforward.

Likes/Dislikes? I wanted a skirt to go with the jacket I made. I thought a skirt with godets might work well, but I didn’t want to use my stash KwikSew pattern. I wanted something with larger godets so it would really highlight the contrast fabric. And I wanted something with a zipped waistline rather than an elastic waist. When I looked through the pattern books, this one jumped out at me.

Fabric: Double faced cotton/lycra.

Any changes to the pattern or design? Lots. Like the jacket, I wanted this to be deconstructed, so I changed a ton. First, I wanted to have seams inset with the contrast (yellow) side of the fabric:

So I changed the godet pattern to add a long strip of fabric coming from the top of the triangle. You can see the resulting godet here:

Next I traced the pattern pieces onto and machine basted the side seam allowances. Then I cut the pattern at the seam lines. To construct it, I butted the raw edges of the sides together, centering them over the godet/seam insert and sewed 1/4″ away from the raw edges. You can see the inside here:

I also eliminated the waistband facing and used petersham ribbon for a facing, stitching it 5/8″ from the top. I trimmed the seam allowance to 1/4″.

Finally, I stitched along the hemline and trimmed the hem about 1/4″ away so the fabric will ravel in the wash.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will sew it again, more conventionally next time. I would recommend this pattern. It goes together easily and it is very au courant.

Conclusion Here is a picture of the skirt with the jacket:

It will get much softer as it gets washed. I’m very happy with how this turned out.

Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Butterick, Sewing, Techniques. Bookmark the permalink.