Flyin’ by the Seat of My Pants


Back to work on the Chanel-style dress! Today I put the bodice together, and I feel my mojo getting stronger with every stitch. But since I am doing a self-lined bodice, I can’t put it together using the instructions, so I’m winging this mother. Fortunately it seems to be coming together okay so far. I’ve only had time to make the bodice, but here you can see what I have come up with so far. It’s far from being pressed properly, since I know I’ll be working with it and mussing it up before it’s ready for prime time. Don’t judge the fit from the dress form. I’m not exactly big, but I’m bigger than Shelly, my dress form.

Here’s a picture of the back of the bodice:

And here you can see the self lining. I used the same pattern pieces on both the lining and the outer shell.

I redrafted the neckline of the bodice to make the V-neckline. I’ll match the jacket neckline to the bodice when I get to it. I call this post Flying by the Seat of My Pants because of all the changes. I’ll be using more standard construction methods on the skirt, but I’ll be adding some couture techniques as well.

Stay tuned, lots more to come.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Chanel Style Dress. Bookmark the permalink.