Chugging Along

I’ve been radio silent lately b/c I’ve been incredibly busy. I have gotten the muslin bodice for the dress cut and mostly sewn, though. I’m going to put it together tonight and get a preliminary look at it. I can tell you a couple of things about the GoPatterns bodice right now though: it’s cut with relatively little ease. It’s not bad, but I may adjust some things given the silk fabric I’ll be using. Also, the side-front-to-center-front princess seam has a LOT of ease to it.

The reason everything is coming along so slowly is because of the steps I have taken so far to get to the initial fitting shell.

1 – trace off pattern

2 – do flat pattern measurements and very preliminary tissue fitting

3 – adjust front bust (definitely needs to be lower and adjusted for cup size)

4 – trace onto muslin and cut out with adjustments above

5 – remove SAs from muslin and trace onto a new muslin

6 – add 1 to 1 1/2 inch SAs to that muslin, cut and sew.

NOW I can start looking at the fit. It’s a PITA, but I’m hoping in the end it will be worth it. I’ll post pictures of the different components later.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Chanel Style Dress. Bookmark the permalink.