Tracing the Dress Pattern and a Decision

Alright! I’m almost done tracing the dress pattern. I’ve decided to make a couple of changes to it. Out of the envelope, the pattern is lined and faced. Instead, I’m going to make the bodice self-lined with the silk. So I only needed to trace off the main pattern pieces (CF, SF, SB and CB).

I also decided that for the jacket, I’m going to morph the neckline and CF closure from Marfy 9821 onto the front of Marfy 9665. I joined the new Club BMV over at Vogue Patterns, and I picked up a Claire Shaeffer Pattern, 8259. I don’t like the jacket, but it has the 3-piece sleeves á la Chanel, so I thought it would be worth studying and seeing if I could morph those onto the sleeve for the Marfy. Gee, it’s starting to sound like Frankenpattern, isn’t it?

Now I have a thought. The princess seams on the dress are armhole princess seams. I was thinking of perhaps morphing them to shoulder princess seams, like the base jacket. What do you think? Will it matter? What would Mademoiselle do?

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Challenge, Chanel Style Dress, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.