Here’s the Deal, Neil

Okay! I got precious little done on my muslin today. Work, you know? Tonight I’ll get it cut out when DH is home and I can foist the kids off on him have him help the kids with their homework. But I did decide on which fabrics to use for the dress/jacket combo. Here they are.

For the skirt and jacket shell,

Just Shoot Me Italian Bouclé
Oh man, that bouclé is fabulous, and I can’t wait to cut into it.

For the bodice and the jacket lining,

Silk Crepe in Soft Pink
It’s less saturated than it looks on my monitor, and it picks up the pinks in the bouclé perfectly. Next question is what jacket pattern to use? GoPatterns 4001 is a given for the dress. After conferring with Sewing Diva Phyllis, I think a close-to-the-body look will work best, and not look frumpy. I want something that doesn’t come down too far on the hips, given that the dress has a seam at the natural waist and is reasonably close-cut. These are three suggestions that Phyllis came up with from Marfy:

This one I like, but I’m not sure about the yoke.

This one I like, but I would eliminate the ruffle.

This is the one that I like best. I would have to think long and hard about the contrast and decide if I want to use it or not. But hey, I have time.

What do you think? Oh, and this is for Paco – I understand you perfectly and I will be visiting Your Blog to learn from you!

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Challenge, Chanel Style Dress, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.