Just Because You Can, Doesn’t Mean You Should

Earlier this year, I was asked by a pattern company if I would be interested in designing a line of patterns for them. Almost before they finished asking the question, I said, ‘No.’ Now, my darling Emmett took me to task for this. His reasoning was that I have a good sense of style, I understand construction, and I teach, so I can cover the technical aspects. He also reasoned that I should assess it as a styling job as much as a design job. That’s an interesting take, but I’m sticking to my guns on this.

Here’s my reason. I’m an oustanding sewist. I’m an excellent teacher. I know color theory and I understand design lines and proportion. I’m the second most stylin’ woman I know (Wouldn’t you all like to know who’s first? Keep guessing; I’m not saying. I will tell you it’s not some Hollywood type; it’s someone on the right). However, I don’t have design chops. And if I’m going to put my name on something, it’s got to be really outstanding. I would not want to disappoint anyone, least of all myself. And given the zeitgeist on the internet lately, I wouldn’t want to be the target of people saying about my designs, “What on God’s Green Earth was she thinking?” It happens, and I don’t like to see it happen to good people.

So, for the time being at least, nope. Not doing it. I reserve the right to change my mind. If I come up with some spectacular design? Sure, I may take that pattern company up on the offer. But for now, I’ll stick to what I do best.

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Commentary, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.