Pattern Review – Simplicity 3690 Tunic

Carol F. (aka Skymom) convinced me to make this after I expressed doubts about whether it would work well for me. It’s not my norm as far as style, but I decided to have a go at it. Thanks Carol!


Pattern Description: Wardrobe includes flat front pants or shorts with faced waistband and side zip; long-sleeved blouse with mandarin collar, tucks at neckline and sleeve detail; vest in two lengths. This time I made the tunic blouse.

Sizing: 4-20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

How were the instructions? They were just fine. This pattern is very, very well drafted.

Fabric Used: As I mentioned when I reviewed the pants last week, I’m making a concerted effort at stash reduction. This fabric is a heavenly French cotton batiste that I bought last year. It is so soft, it feels like silk.

Any alterations or changes? I did an FBA for a princess line top. Other than that, I didn’t need to make any changes. I should note, however, that the upper sleeve is pretty closely fitted. I made a size 12, and I didn’t have any problem, but if you have full upper arms, you might want to check the pattern’s measurements against yours.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it? I am not sure if I’ll make this again. It’s a little off my norm. I do recommend it, but I have to throw in a caveat. This is an “Easy Chic” pattern. While it’s not that difficult, it requires precision sewing, especially on the tucks. It also really, really (really really!) requires thorough pressing at all stages of construction or you risk ending up with a hot mess.

Here’s a closeup of the tucks:

So I would recommend this for advanced beginner or beyond. I’m going to make the vest too. Style-wise, I think this top needs something over it like the vest or a belt to keep it from looking matronly. On the plus side, the tucks give good camouflage to the lower torso without making you look pregnant.

Conclusion Another winner from this pattern. Definitely an easy, well drafted pattern that gives great results. Here’s a picture of the finished top:

Happy sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Reviews, Simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.