Next Up, Pants

In my continuous stash-reduction effort, I’m going to make the pants, and possibly the top and vest, from Simplicity 3690. I like the clean line of the pants and the higher waist, though they are still about 1 inch below the natural waist. Here’s the one thing that I am not so crazy about: no pockets. The pattern has a side zip. I think I may add welt pockets in the back. I don’t need pockets all the time, but I do like to carry my cell phone with me, so it would be nice to have the option. I also may split the back facing piece and add a center seam so I can fit the pants better. That will help me eliminate back gapping. I’ll do a muslin both ways and decide which works best.

The fabric I’m using is very cool. It’s a silk/wool blend, gray pinstripe. It has a high sheen to it: it reminds me rather of Steve Martin in “My Blue Heaven”. It’ll be interesting to see how it turns out. Shiny pants I can deal with, but I may forego the vest if it’s too ‘too’ to be ironic. I don’t want to end up looking like Daniel V in the outfit that got Nick kicked off season 2 of Project Runway:

I’m debating about the shirt, too. It’s kind of cool, but I’m not sure it’s a good look for me. I have a gorgeous French batiste that I bought in New York last winter. It’s a negative print of lilacs in black/white and it would be just perfect for the shirt, but it might be a whole lotta look on me. We’ll see. I’ll make a muslin and decide once I see those sleeves.

Okay, off to real work. I have to set up my post for BeSewStylish.com. More later. Until then….

Happy Sewing!

About Gorgeous Things

I own an online fabric store, www.gorgeousfabrics.com. Everything else you need to know about me is what I tell you on my blog, darlings!
This entry was posted in Patterns, Simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.